Sunday, August 31, 2014

Week Recap (8/25-31)


Eyes Wide Shut (1999): 90%
director: Stanley Kubrick
writer: Stanley Kubrick and Frederic Raphael
actors: Tom Cruise, Nicole Kidman
production companies: Warner Bros., Stanley Kubrick Productions, Hobby Films

Calvary (2014): 79%
director/writer: John Michael McDonagh
actors: Brendan Gleeson, Chris O'Dowd, Kelly Reilly
production companies: Irish Film Board, Lipsync Productions, Octagon Films

The Dog (2013): 69%
directors: Allison Berg and Frank Keraudren
production company: Unleashed Films

But I'm a Cheerleader (1999): 83%
director: Jamie Babbit
writer: Brian Wayne Peterson
actors: Natasha Lyonne, Michelle Williams, RuPaul, Cathy Moriarty
production companies: Cheerleader LLC, Hate Kills Man (HKM), Ignite Entertainment


Looking, Season 1: 80%
creator: Michael Lannan
actors: Jonathan Groff, Frankie J. Álvarez, Murray Bartlett, Raúl Castillo, Lauren Weedman, Russell Tovey
directors: Andrew Haigh, Ryan Fleck
writers: Michael Lannan, Andrew Haigh, Allan Heinberg, Tanya Saracho

Masters of Sex, Season 1, Episode 2


Fleet Foxes - Discography (2006-)
band members: Robin Pecknold, Skyler Skjelset, Casey Wescott, Christian Wargo, Morgan Henderson
origin: Seattle, Washington

Rufus Wainwright - Out of the Game (2012)
label: Decca/Polydor
producer: Mark Ronson

The Tallest Man on Earth - Discography (2006-)
band member: Kristian Matsson
origin: Leksand, Dalarna, Sweden

Thursday - Discography (1997-2011)
band members: Geoff Rickly, Tom Keeley, Tim Payne, Tucker Rule, Steve Pedulla, Andrew Everding
origin: New Brunswick, New Jersey

Kevin Devine - "Ballgame"
Radiator Hospital - "Our Song"
The Tallest Man on Earth - "The Dreamer"
Wild Beasts - "A Simple Beautiful Truth"


Titus Andronicus w/ Liquor Store @ The Middle East Upstairs

Thursday, August 28, 2014

Titus Andronicus

"I heard them say the white man created existential angst
When he ran out of other problems
Cause the thing about those problems was
Typically, more money would solve them"

- Ecce Homo

Sunday, August 24, 2014

Killer Mike on Ferguson

Week Recap (8/18-24)


The Fisher King (1991): 69%
directed by: Terry Gilliam
written by: Richard LaGravenese
actors: Robin Williams, Jeff Bridges, Mercedes Ruehl
production company: Columbia Pictures Corporation

Volver (2006): 82%
directed/written by: Pedro Almodóvar
actors: Penélope Cruz, Carmen Maura, Lola Dueñas, Blanca Portillo, Yohana Cobo, Chus Lampreave
production company: Canal+ España, El Deseo S.A., Ministerio de Cultura


Dry the River - Alarms in the Heart (2014)
label: Transgressive Records
producers: Charlie Hugall, Paul Savage and Peter Miles

Every Time I Die - Discography (1998-present)
band members: Keith Buckley, Jordan Buckley, Andy Williams, Stephen Micciche, Ryan Leger
origin: Buffalo, NY

Kanye West - College Dropout (2004)
label: Roc-A-Fella, Def Jam
producers: Kareem "Biggs" Burke, Shawn "Jay-Z" Carter, Damon "Dame" Dash, Evidence, Kyambo "Hip Hop" Joshua, Kanye West

The New Pornographers - Bill Bruisers (2014)
label: Matador, Last Gang
producer: A.C. Newman, John Collins

Dry the River - "Gethsemane"
Killer Mike - "Reagan"
The New Pornographers - "War on the East Coast"
Sharon Van Etten - "I Know"
Sharon Van Etten - "Every Time the Sun Comes Up"


Chronicle of a Plague, Revisited: AIDS and Its Aftermath by Andrew Holleran (2008)

Wednesday, August 20, 2014

Week Recap (8/4-17)


(2014): 45%
director/writer: Luc Besson
actors: Scarlett Johansson, Morgan Freeman, Min-sik Choi
production company: Canal+, Ciné+, EuropaCorp

Rich Hill (2014): 83%
directors & producers: Andrew Droz Palermo, Tracy Droz Tragos
distributed by: The Orchard, Independent Lens

Only Lovers Left Alive (2013): 66%
director/writer: Jim Jarmusch
actors: Tilda Swinton, Tom Hiddleston, Mia Wasikowska, John Hurt
production company: Recorded Picture Company (RPC), Pandora Filmproduktion, Snow Wolf Produktion


Adventure Time: 
Season 5, Episodes 17 - 21 (2012): A
directors: Nate Cash, Adam Muto, Elizabeth Ito
writers: Tom Herpich & Steve Wolfhard, Kent Osborne & Cole Sanchez, Pendleton Ward & Somvilay Xayaphone, Graham Falk, Jesse Moynihan & Thomas Wellmann


FKA Twigs
- LP1 (2014): 91%
label: Young Turks
producers: Arca, Clams Casino, Cy An, Paul Epworth, FKA twigs, Emile Haynie, Devonté Hynes, Inc., Sampha, Tic

Hundred Waters - The Moon Rang Like a Bell (2014): 80%
label: OWSLA

jj - V (2014): 80%
label: Sincerely Yours, Secretly Canadian

The Tallest Man On Earth - Discography (2006 - present)
artist: Saras Per Kristian Matsson
origin: Leksand, Dalarna, Sweden

FKA Twigs - "Closer"
Hundred Waters - "[Animal]"
jj - "All Ways, Always"
jj - "Dean & Me"
Little Dragon - "Paris"
Little Dragon - "Mirror"
Iceage - "The Lord's Favorite"

Sunday, August 3, 2014

Week Recap (7/28 - 8/3)


Women on the Verge of a Nervous Breakdown (1988): 88%
director, writer, producer: Pedro Almodóvar
actors: Carmen Maura, Antonio Banderas, Julieta Serrano, Rossy de Palma, María Barranco
production company: El Deseo, S.A.


It's Always Sunny in Philadelphia - Season 6, EP 1-3: A-
director: Randall Einhorn
writers: Becky Mann & Audra Sielaff, Dave Chernin & John Chernin, and Charlie Day & Rob McElhenney


Blood Orange - Cupid Deluxe (2013)
label: Domino
producer: Devonté Hynes

Courtney Barnett - The Double EP: A Sea of Split Peas (2013)
label: Milk!, Mom+Pop Music

The National - Discography (1999 - current)

Strata - Strata Presents: The End of The World (2007)
label: Wind-up
producer: Gregg Wattenberg

Sylvan Esso - Sylvan Esso (2014)
label: Partisan
producer: Amelia Meath and Nick Sanborn

Blood Orange - "You're Not Good Enough"
Courtney Barnett - "Avant Gardener"
The National - "Pink Rabbits"

Sunday, July 27, 2014

Week Recap (7/21-27)


House of Cards - Season 2 (79%)
favorite episodes: Episode 1, 4, 13
directors: Carl Franklin, James Foley
writers: Beau Willimon, Laura Eason
actors: Kevin Spacey, Robin Wright, Michael Gill

Louie - Season 4, Episode 6


Bat for Lashes - Discography (2006 - current)

Frightened Rabbit - The Midnight Organ Fight (2008)
label: Fat Cat
producer: Peter Katis

Interpol - Antics (2004)
label: Matador
producer: Interpol, Peter Katis

Peaches - I Feel Cream (2009)
label: XL
producer: Digitalism, Drums of Death, Peaches, Shapemod, Simian Mobile Disco, Soulwax

Portugal. the Man - Church Mouth (2007)
label: Fearless
producer: Casey Bates

Rx Bandits - Mandala (2009)
label: Sargent House
producer: Chris Fudurich

Band of Horses - "The Great Salt Lake"
Peaches - "Mommy Complex"
Peaches - "Private Dancer" (Tina Turner cover)


Peaches w/ Cakes da Killa @ the ICA, Boston